CWL Announces Expansion to 8 Teams

After a successful 2011 season which ended with over sixty percent of the league’s ballplayers receiving pro or college offers, the California Winter League has announced its expansion to eight teams. Joining the Canada A’s, the Coachella Valley Snowbirds, the Palm Desert Coyotes, and the Palm Springs Chill will be the Alberta Huskies, the British Columbia Bombers, the Oregon Lumberjacks, and the Tokyo Dragons.

With eight teams, the CWL will play games at Palm Springs Stadium seven days a week, providing Coachella Valley residents with phenomenal, family-fun entertainment all week long. The addition of four teams will also allow the league to cut down roster sizes, leading to increased at-bats and more playing time for all participating ballplayers. With top-notch instructors like former MLB star Darrell Evans, the CWL strives to provide the best advice and instruction for its ballplayers while also giving fans a fun-filled stadium experience. With games every day, Palm Springs Staium will be the best place to spend a beautiful day in Palm Springs this winter.